60th Annual GRAMMY nominees

Congratulations to 60th Annual GRAMMY nominees who are alums or teach at so many of the schools showcased on MajoringInMusic.com. Including but not limited to these:

Berklee College of Music (Wayne Sermon, Ben McKee, Daniel Platzman, Antonio Sanchez, Sara Caswell, Anat Cohen, David Rawlings, August Eriksmoen, Alex Lacamoire); Boston Conservatory at Berklee (Laura Dreyfuss); CalArts Herb Alpert School of Music (Greg Kurstin); Carnegie Mellon University (Kristolyn Lloyd); Florida State University (Luis Fonsi); Frost School of Music at the University of Miami (Raul Midón, Shelly Berg); Indiana University Jacobs School of Music (Maria Lettberg); Interlochen Arts Academy (Ryan Freeland);  Mannes School of Music at the New School (Murray Perahia); Oberlin Conservatory (Chris Eldridge, Steven Isserlis); School of Jazz at the New School (Marcus Baylor, Jazzmeia Horn); Temple University Boyer College of Music & Dance (Jean Baylor); University of Houston Moores School of Music (Shelly Berg); University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance (Ian Eisendrath, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, Nicholas Phan); USC Thornton School of Music (Billy Childs, Vince Mendoza, Ludwig Göransson); University of Toronto (Barbara Hannigan).

Click on these schools to find out what they offer, and google these nominees to learn more about their music and career paths.

And a few fun facts about some of the 60th Annual GRAMMY nominees:

Jorge Drexler, singer/songwriter nominated for Best Latin Rock, Urban or Alternative Album, is trained as an otolaryngologist – an ear, nose and throat specialist.

Jazz composer, pianist and producer Pascal Le Boeuf, nominated for Best Instrumental Composition, often performs with his twin brother, composer and saxophonist Remy, and is currently a doctoral student at Princeton University’s Department of Music.

Steve Wood, co-founder of Northern Cree, a six-time GRAMMY nominee indigenous drum and singing group from Alberta, Canada nominated for Best Regional Roots Music Album, teaches Cree classes in his spare time to show kids that “anything’s possible.”

Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, University of Michigan musical theatre graduates nominated for Best Musical Theatre album, wrote the music for “Dear Evan Hansen.”

Judith Sherman, a 10-time GRAMMY winner, was the only female nominee for Producer of the Year, Classical.

Photo: Ben McKee, bassist, Imagine Dragons (Photo credit: Vancouver Sun)


  1. Marlena D Crovatt-Bagwell

    The University of South Carolina School of Music is pleased to announce Assistant Professor of Guitar Mak Grgi? has received a GRAMMY nomination for “A Night in Upper Town – The Music of Zoran Krajacis” in the “Best Classical Instrumental Solo” category!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *